

County Of Santa Cruz

COMMISSION ON THE ENVIRONMENT

701 OCEAN STREET, ROOM 330, SANTA CRUZ, CA 95060-4073

(831) 454-2210 FAX: (831) 454-2710 TDD: (831) 454-2123

COMMISSION ON THE ENVIRONMENT

ANNUAL REPORT - 2007

1. Role of the Commission on the Environment

The Commission on the Environment acts as an advisory body to, and resource for, the County Board of Supervisors. The Commission is charged with recommending policies and action programs designed to improve and protect the environment.

In accordance with its purpose as presented in Chapter 2.54.050 of the County Code, the Commission shall:

- A. Advise the Board of Supervisors and make recommendations on ways to improve and protect the environment to ensure the long term environmental sustainability of the County;
- B. Advise the Board of Supervisors and work with other commissions in reviewing the updating County policies to provide a comprehensive course of action to support these goals in both the public and private spheres;
- C. Serve as an information clearing house to the Board of Supervisors and other county commission about proposed and pending legislation, both state and federal, which may impact the environment;
- D. Advise the Board of Supervisors on potential areas of cooperation with other public and private agencies and organizations to plan and implement effective environmental policies in Santa Cruz County; and

E. Exercise any other responsibilities that may be set forth in the commission's bylaws, or may be directed by the Board of Supervisors.

2. Meeting Dates, Time and Location

The Commission met in 2007 on October 24, November 26 and December 19 at 701 Ocean Street. The Commission generally meets on the on the fourth Wednesday of the month at 5:00 p.m. in the Board of Supervisors Chambers located at 701 Ocean Street, Fifth Floor, Santa Cruz, CA.

3. Commission Structure

The Commission is composed of ten members who are residents of the County. Each member of the Board of Supervisors appoints two commissioners.

They are as follows:

District 1 Mr. Len Beyea, term expires April 1, 2009

Mr. Dan Haifley, term expires April 1, 2009

District 2 Ms. Sharon Sarris, term expires April 1, 2009

Mr. Kenneth Adelman, term expires April 1, 2009

District 3 Mr. Alan Schlenger (Vice-Chairperson), term expires April 1, 2011

Ms. Donna Meyers, term expires April 1, 2011

District 4 Mr. Robert Stokes, term expires April 1, 2011

Mr. Tom Rosewall, term expires April 1, 2011

District 5 Ms. Virginia Johnson (Chairperson), term expires April 1, 2009

Dr. Betsy Herbert, term expires April 1, 2009

4. Commission Staff

The Commission is staffed by the General Services Department.

5. Attendance

Commissioner attendance for 2007 is itemized on the attached roster.

6. Annual Goals and Accomplishments

The newly formed Commission met for the first time in October 2007. The Commission convened with its complete appointed membership in December 2007.

The Commission focus at the 2007 meetings was on reviewing the history of various environmental efforts in the County and identifying an appropriate work plan for the new Commission in the upcoming year.

7. **Future Goals** The Commission on the Environment is in the process of developing its by laws and work plan in accordance with the stated purpose. Specific goals will be developed and presented to the Board of Supervisors in early 2008.